MBG 7 Chakras for Beginners

Chakras have an energy flow that has a large positive impact on healing both the mind and body. Each individual chakra has its own special purpose that contributes to the body’s overall health. There are a total of seven chakras and it’s important for the beginner to know that it’s vital for them to work in harmony with each other. When your chakras are out of balance it’s possible that you can become ill. For those of you who are new to the process of nurturing the chakras might not know of effective ways of balancing the chakras. Luckily, balancing chakras is not very difficult to learn.

1. Root Chakra

Sometimes called the base chakra. As the name implies, the root chakra is representative of our foundation and give one a feeling of being grounded. It’s located at the base of the spine right at the tailbone area. This chakra is also associated with survival issues such as an abundance of funds, housing, and food. Its color is red and when it is out of balance it shows itself in cold hands and feet, back pain, depression (find out how else to prevent depression naturally), and fatigue. Healing involves exercise and sleep, red colored foods and drinks, red gemstones and clothing, and using red essential oils such as sandalwood and ylang ylang.

Attractive Man Breathing Outdoor

Photo credit: bigstock


2. Sacral Chakra

This chakra is our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. It’s located in the lower abdomen, approximately 2 inches below the navel. This chakra is associated with a sense of well-being, abundance, pleasure, and our sexuality.  Its color is orange and when it is out of balance it’s often expressed through allergies, yeast infections, alcohol and drug abuse, and sexual problems. Healing involves orange colored food and drink, massage, orange gemstones and clothing, and red essential oils.


3. Heart Chakra

Of course, this chakra is our ability to love. It’s located just above the heart itself in the center of the chest. This chakra is associated with our emotional issues such as love, peace, happiness, and joy. Its color is green and when it is out of balance it’s often expressed through high blood pressure, heart and breathing issues, even breast cancer (read about top 12 natural cancer prevention strategies). Healing involves spending time in nature and time with family, green food and drink, green gemstones and clothing and green essential oils such as pine or eucalyptus.


4. Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is connected with our confidence and our ability to be in control of our lives. It’s located in the upper abdomen, in the stomach area. This chakra is associated with our self-worth, self-confidence, humor, and self-esteem.  The color of this chakra is yellow. When it’s out of balance it’s expressed through digestive problems, memory loss, and diabetes. Healing involves doing puzzles and learning, detoxing the body, yellow foods and drinks, yellow gemstones and clothing, and lemon essential oil.


5. Throat Chakra

As you might imagine, this chakra is connected with our ability to communicate. It’s located in our throat and is associated with expression of our feelings, truth, and communications. Its color is blue and when it is out of balance it expresses itself through thyroid problems, mood swings, fever, and hormonal issues. Healing involves happy conversation, singing, collecting things, blue food and drink, blue gemstones and clothing, and the blue essential oil of chamomile (read also about natural remedies for anxiety).


6. Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is connected with our ability to focus and see the big picture. It’s located on the forehead, directly between the eyes and is sometimes called the brow chakra. It’s associated with our emotional issues such as imagination, psychic abilities, wisdom, decision making, and intuition. Its color is indigo. When it is out of balance it manifests itself through sleeping disorders, imbalance, and learning disabilities. Healing involves star gazing, meditation, indigo colored food and drink, indigo gemstones and clothing, and the soothing indigo colored essential oil of patchouli.


SEE ALSO: 8 Ancient Beliefs Now Backed by Modern Science

7. Crown Chakra

This is the highest chakra and represents our ability to be connected spiritually. It’s located directly on the top of our head. It’s connected with the emotional issues of both inner and outer beauty, our spirituality, and pure bliss. Its color is violet and when it’s out of balance is shows itself as headaches, skin rashes, senility, a lack of coordination, even mental illness. Healing involves writing down inventions and thoughts, focusing on dreams, violet colored food and drink, violet gemstones and clothing, along with lavender essential oil.

Although it might take some time to become familiar, they are easily learned with some daily practice. A few helpful tips are:

  • Clear your mind of all negative thoughts and energy.
  • Perform daily meditations on your chakras.
  • Pay attention to your hand positioning when balancing your chakras through your mediation efforts. Two hands is the most helpful method. Place on hand on one chakra and the other hand on another.
  • As you noted, each chakra has its own color. If you feel there is a chakra out of balance, wear it’s color one day of the week and concentrate during the day on that specific color.
  • Deep breathing exercises are quite helpful in opening up your chakras and restoring them to their natural balance.